The three prolific 18th century composers, Thyagaraja, Muthuswamy Dikshitar and Syama Sastri are collectively known as the Trinity of Carnatic music, as the music system is based centrally on compositions attributed to them. The compositions of Syama Sastri are known for their intricate rhythmic patterns, those of Thyagaraja for the happy blend of emotion and melody, and those of Dikshitar for their depiction of melodic beauty and variety.