General (later Field Marshal in 1986) K.M Cariappa (28 January 1899 - 15 May 1993) took over from the British commander-in-chief (C-in-C) General Sir Roy Bucher on 15 January 1949 and held office till 14 January 1953. The only other C-in-C was General M. Rajendra Sinhji Jadeja who took over as the first Chief of Army Staff (COAS) in April 1955, after which the post of C-in-C was abolished.