Prof Dr Dinesh Sharma (b Jan 12, 1964) of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Lucknow City mayoral elections in UP, defeating his nearest rival by a margin of 1,71,849 votes on July 7, 2012. He received 3,35,106 votes, that is 45.56% of the total votes polled (7,35,511), while the runner-up got 1,63,257 votes. Dr Sharma later took oath as Mayor of the city on July 15, 2012, making it his second straight term.