The Jnanpith Award is presented annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith to an Indian author for his/her outstanding contribution to literature. In includes a cash prize and a Saraswati idol.

• G. Sankara Kurup (1901– 1978), a Malayalam poet, won the first Jnanpith Award in 1965, the year of its inception, for his anthology of poems, titled Odakkuzhal.
• Ashapoorna Devi (1909 –1995) was the first woman to receive the Jnanpith Award in 1965 for her novel Pratham Pratisruti, the first in a trilogy that included Subarnalata and Bakul Katha. For her contribution to literature, the Sahitya Akademi conferred its highest honour, the Sahitya Akademi Fellowship, on her in 1994.