•Arundhati Roy won the prestigious Booker Prize in 1997 for her first novel The God of Small Things. Two other Indian-origin authors had won it before her – Salman Rushdie’s second novel, Midnight’s Children won in 1981 and Sir V.S. Naipaul’s In a Free State, won in 1971.
•Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children also won the special Booker of Bookers prize in 1993.