India went to the polls nationally for the first time in 1952, with 314 constituencies with one seat, 86 with two seats, and one with three seats. There were also two nominated Anglo-Indian members. The then Election Commission of India (ECI) recognized 14 political parties as multi-State political parties and 39 parties as State parties. Voting was based on the ‘balloting system’, i.e., casting votes in ballot boxes allotted to respective candidates. 1,96,084 polling stations were set up across the country, with 27, 527 among those exclusively reserved for women. From the 173 million electorate, 10,59,50,083 people voted.