The prestigious Filmfare Award was first introduced on 21 March 1954. It had just five categories at the time – Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress (as it was called then) and Best Music Director. Do Bigha Zameen won the best film award. The first four winners were Bimal Roy (best director, Do Bigha Zameen), Dilip Kumar (best actor, Daag), Meena Kumari (best actress, Baiju Bawra) and Naushad (music, Baiju Bawra).