The Reserve Bank of India (RBI ) was established in 1935 to monitor all other banks in the country. Its main functions are the establishment of a unified currency system and credit policies, maintenance of the money standard, issue of paper currency and maintenance of the external value of the rupee. The RBI was nationalized in 1948.