On May 11, 2016, the Navy retired Sea Harrier aircraft which were in its service for 33 years. Originally the Navy had 28 Sea Harriers but only 11 remained on the day of decommissioning from INS Hansa base in Vasco, Goa. Led by Lt Cdr Arun Prakash the first three Sea Harriers flew to India via Malta, Luxor and Dubai. They landed at Dabolim, Goa, on Dec 16, 1983 to replace the Sea Hawks.