Mumbai-based Sportscraft India has successfully organised 27 Monsoon Scooter Rally events since 1986. Motorsports enthusiast Shrikant Karani, assisted by a team of professionals, has been the driving force behind these scooter rallies held during the Monsoon season. The 2016 edition of Gulf Monsoon Scooter Rally held in Mumbai had a participation of 54 riders from across the country. Syed Asif Ali of Team TVS Racing was the winner. Four-time champion Shamim Khan of Team Mahindra came second. Nidhi Shukla of Team Ceat was adjudged the best lady rider.