India sent its largest contingent ever of 12 shooters for the Rio Olympics in 2016. It was the first time in the last four Olympics that the shooters returned without a medal. Abhinav Bindra placed fourth in men’s air rifle, and Jitu Rai was eighth in men’s air pistol. Jitu Rai missed a berth in the free pistol final owing to a ‘’7’’ on the penultimate shot. Mairaj Ahmad Khan shot 121 out of 125 and eventually missed a spot in  knock-out phase in the shoot-off. Gurpreet Singh shot 581 and placed seventh in men’s 25m rapid fire pistol. The other shooters who competed in the Rio Olympics were, Gagan Narang, Manavjit Singh Sandhu, Chain Singh, Ayonika Paul, Apurvi Chandela, Kynan Chenai, Prakash Nanjappa and Heena Sidhu.