The Indian Army Everest Expedition 2016, flagged off on March 29, 2016, successfully put 14 personnel on top of Mt Everest in May 2016. The first team led by Lt Col Ranveer Singh Jamwal and comprising Sub Rinzin Dorjai, Hav Hazari Lal, Hav K Siva Kumar, Nk Ankur Rawat, Nk Dorjay Gyalson and Nk CB Thapa reached the summit on May 19, 2016. The second team led by Maj Mirza Zahid Baig along with Nb Sub Unnikannan APV, Hav Arjun Kumar Thapa, Hav Min Bahadur Tamang, Nk Min Bahadur Rana, Nk Pratap Singh and Rfn Umesh Rai made it to the summit on the next day. Remarkably, the expedition was undertaken after the 2015 Nepal earthquake had damaged the traditional routes. The mission was accomplished under the leadership of Lt Col Ranveer Singh Jamwal.
Nine days later, on May 29, 2016, five members of the team also participated in the world’s highest marathon, the 42.2 km Tenzing-Hillary Everest Marathon from Everest Base Camp to Namche Bazar.