18 Squadron, formed in Ambala on April 15, 1965, is the only squadron whose member has won a ParamVir Chakra. On Dec 14, 1971, alone in a Gnat, Flying Officer NJS Sekhon fought Pakistani Sabre aircraft in the face of certain death and was decorated posthumously with the Param Vir Chakra.
On Nov 28, 2015, President of India Pranab Mukherjee awarded the President’s Standard to No 18 Squadron at Air Force Station Hashimara. The Standard is awarded to outstanding operational units for their performance during peace as well as hostilities. The Commanding Officer, Group Captain KJ Singh received the Standard. Informally called the Flying Bullets, the squadron has also received three Shaurya Chakras, one Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry), nine Vayu Sena Medals and four Mention-in-Dispatches.