The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is one of the premier events for the International Cricket Council (ICC). Held once every four years, the 12th edition of the tournament is currently in progress, and is followed by millions around the globe.

As the sport expands its reach – currently played by nearly 460 million people around the world, several initiatives of the ICC are making it even more popular than ever before. The ICC events for women and youth, which are also played by associate members, are further helping the sport reach new locations.

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup

Young cricketers from top cricket playing nations and the best among associate member nations compete against each other for the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup. The trophy was introduced in 1988, and has been held every two years since.

The 16-team event includes five teams which play a qualifying round in each of the ICC development territories. The next edition of the tournament is scheduled to be held in South Africa in 2020.

The India U19 team is the current winner of the trophy, having won the tournament four times and been runner up twice. Australia have emerged winners thrice and Pakistan twice.

ICC Intercontinental Cup

For any of the 92 associate members of the ICC that want to proliferate cricket, aiming to participate in the ICC Intercontinental Cup is a must.

It does not come easy, though. Eight teams from amongst the associate member nations – Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and UAE – took part in the ICC Intercontinental Cup between 2015 and 2017, which was won by Afghanistan for the second time.

The tournament is played over two and a half years, in which eight teams play against each other in four-day matches in a home and away format. The next edition of the tournament will be held from 2019 - 2021.

The results of the ICC Intercontinental Cup are showing. Afghanistan and Ireland have now been recognised as test playing nations in 2017.

ICC World Cricket League

In 2007, the ICC World Cricket League was launched to provide regular opportunities for associate member nations to play matches in the 50-over format. There are five divisions each consisting of six teams, except division five which has eight teams.

The event for each division is held over 12-18 months, lasting 8-10 days in a round robin format. Teams can move up or down between divisions depending on their performance. There was plenty of action seen when the League was last held May 2015 and December 2017.

The next edition of the ICC World Cricket league will be held between 2019 and 2021.

ICC Champions Trophy

The top eight ODI teams across the world compete against each other in the ICC Champions Trophy. The two groups of four teams each battle it out for a place among the top four for the knockout stage.

It started in 1998 at Dhaka, Bangladesh and was held every two years till 2009. It has now moved to a four-year cycle.

Pakistan are the reigning champions of the ICC Champions Trophy.

ICC World Twenty20 Championship

The 20-over format introduced by the ICC in 2007 for the ICC World Twenty20 Championship has been lapped up across nations. The inaugural event in 2007 in South Africa was a hit with India and Pakistan clashing in an epic final.

West Indies won of the last edition of the tournament, beating England in the finals. They won the tournament for a second time.

ICC Women’s World Cup

The first edition of the ICC Women’s World Cup was held in 1973, two years ahead of the men’s championship. Since then, women in more and more countries are taking up the sport. Eight teams take part in the championship.

Australia are the reigning champions of the event and have been the most successful team, having won the trophy six times.

Reaching out to communities

Criiio Cup. Ever heard of this trophy?

Teams from Brazil, England, Germany, India, Indonesia and Rwanda will be playing their own version of cricket at Trafalgar Square in London, two days before the ICC Men’s World Cup final at Lord’s.

The teams for the Criiio Cup have been identified from around the world by the ICC based on the impact cricket has had on their communities. It is a celebration of the diversity in which cricket is played and enjoyed around the world.